Is My Hair Natural?

Ever since I can actually remember, when people see me they have always asked questions about my hair. For a few examples: “Is that a perm?,” “How do you get it so curly?,” “Where do you go to get your hair done?,” “Is your hair natural?,” and etc. It’s truly annoying, but I guess I should be happy that a lot of people love my hair.

The truth is, is my hair is 100% natural. No perm. No chemicals. Just some mousse and I am ready to leave the house.

The strange thing is, is that my hair when I was younger was more wavy then the curls/ringlets I have right now. All that I can remember, is that when I was 5 years old, I got a really bad case of lice and they had to shave my head, which was not ideal for me. I was crying so much. I was kicking and screaming. When it grew back in my hair was more curlier than it was before.

Most people would love to have curly hair, but I actually was not that happy about it. Kids from my school called my hair frizzy or a frizz-ball and I didn’t like it. It was as if that was my name through my peers. It definitely hurt me, so I started to really hate my hair. I wanted it straight. Oh boy, did I want my hair straight. So I started straightening it everyday, but that did not help. The students started calling me a “wannabe” and still called me frizzy.

I remember during high school, I wanted to go and get my hair chemically straightened. It got to that point where I was just so fed up with the names and everyone laughing at me for my hair. I just wanted to belong. I wanted to be like everyone else. I thought that by me having straight hair then people would like me. I guess I was tired of seeing all the guys I like going for girls with straight hair. My long-term boyfriend cheated on me multiple times and the girls had straight hair. I was just done with my curly hair. Thank the lord, that I didn’t go through with it because it would have ruined my hair and would never curl like it does ever again.

A lot of people actually have started asking me about my hair. When I say it is real, they all can’t believe it and tell my that I’m so lucky. That most girls dream of having hair like mine. I started to realize that if you have something about yourself that is different or unique then own up to it. Don’t let no one let you feel bad about yourself because they are just jealous.

“Growing up, I just wanted to be like everyone else. I didn’t value or understand the beauty in being different at the time in my life” ~ Marisol Nichols 

Leave a Reply

