Why Do People Think Tattoos Are Bad? 

There is such a stigma on tattoos. And I have no idea why. Why do people think tattoos are bad? Ugly? Distasteful? To me, tattoos are beautiful. They tell your story, in a way. They are personal. They are truthful. Of course, as time changes, you might regret one, but that is life. 

I hear from my family, all the time, that they don’t want to see me get anymore tattoos. They ask me “Why would you do that to myself?” “Why disgrace your body in that way?” I am sick and tired of hearing that, all the damn time!

I remember once I was at a party and my aunt looked at this girl and asked everyone around her “Why in the world would she do that to herself? She’s such a pretty girl, but that tattoo takes it all away.” Like are you kidding me? Is this for real? No one should judge anyone with a tattoo. By having a tattoo does not mean you are any less pretty than someone without one. 

People have opinions and trust me, I’m all for that. But when you degrade someone as less than you because they have a tattoo then that is really just showing everyone what kind of person you are. And that is not anyone I want to be associated with. 

Tattoos are fashionable. They can be very cute and beautiful. If you want to get a tattoo then by all means, go ahead and get one. That is, if you are above 18. Don’t be scared of what people might think. I got my first tattoo on my 18th birthday, Just Breathe, as a reminder to not take things too seriously. To take time and breathe and relax and to just be by myself, sometimes. 

You see, tattoos are truly a personal thing. They can remind you of a memory or of something that made you grow as a person. They truly are a magical thing. The thing that I would advise though is to be careful with tattoos. Tattoos are permanent, for the most part as they are very painful and expensive to get removed, so make sure you are 100% sure you want that tattoo. You don’t want to regret something, like I do and I’m planning on getting removed when I get the money for it. 

Just remember no one should judge anyone for having a tattoo or a piercing or anything, for that matter of fact. Just always be true to yourself. Always keep moving with your head held high and never forget to dream.

Until the next time!

Leave a Reply

